Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A


CAPCOG policy and advisory committees meet regularly in the interest of providing advice and recommendations to the Executive Committee on various programs. Some of the advisory entities are required by state or federal funding agencies. Others were created by CAPCOG to provide venues for participation and input. 

Policy Committees

Capital Area Economic Development District, Inc. (CAEDD)

The Capital Area Economic Development District, Inc. was formed in 1989 to develop and maintain a current regional overall economic development plan (OEDP) for the region, as designated by the Economic Development Administration, under the Public Works and Economic Development Act of 1965 and to identify regional community economic development goals and strategies.
Committee liaison: Rachel Steele

Capital Area Emergency Communications District (CAECD)

The Capital Area Emergency Communications District, established in 2013 by state legislation and subsequent resolutions by Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, Travis and Williamson counties and the City of Austin, oversees 9-1-1 services to local governments in State Planning Region 12. The CAPCOG Executive Committee also serves as the CAECD's Board of Managers.
Committee liaison: Betty Voights

Capital Area Regional Transportation Planning Organization (CARTPO)

The Capital Area Regional Transportation Planning Organization was created to work with officials in non-metropolitan areas when making transportation planning and programming decisions. It functions as a central clearinghouse for regional transportation planning. CARTPO is not appointed by the CAPCOG Executive Committee.
Committee liaison: Rachel Steele

Central Texas Clean Air Coalition (CAC)

The Central Texas Clean Air Coalition, or the Clean Air Coalition, is a voluntary, unincorporated association that became affiliated with CAPCOG by a resolution adopted on Nov. 13, 2002. Its members consist of elected officials from the Austin-Round Rock-Georgetown Metropolitan Statistical Area — Bastrop, Caldwell, Hays, Travis, and Williamson counties. The coalition works to develop clean air plans to maintain compliance with the federal eight-hour ozone standards.
Committee liaison: Andrew Hoekzema 

Advisory Committees

Aging Advisory Council (AAC)

The Aging Advisory Council was formed in 1974 to provide a forum for planning and feedback on aging related issues and problems and to provide review and comment on applications for funding to the CAPCOG Executive Committee. This committee is required by the Older Americans Act.
Committee liaison: Patty Bordie

Clean Air Coalition Advisory Committee (CACAC)

The Clean Air Coalition Advisory Committee, a subcommittee of the CAC and formerly the Early Action Compact (EAC) Task Force, is a workgroup made up of staff from the participating CAC jurisdictions, and serves as a technical and policy advisory committee for CAC members.
Committee liaison: Andrew Hoekzema 

CAECD Strategic Advisory Committee (CAECD SAC)

The Capital Area Emergency Communications District Strategic Advisory Committee, formerly the 9-1-1 Strategic Advisory Committee assists in planning and reviewing policies and infrastructure for operating emergency communications. The 15-member committee of emergency communication professionals is largely determined by population and established by the CAPCOG Executive Committee, acting in their role as the CAECD Board of Managers.
Committee liaison: Gregg Obuch

Criminal Justice Advisory Committee (CJAC)

The Criminal Justice Advisory Committee was formed in 1982 to promote, foster and coordinate criminal justice planning and to review and prioritize applications for criminal justice funds by local entities. This committee is required by the Office of the Governor, Criminal Justice Division (CJD). 
Committee liaison: Matt Holderread

Geographic Information Systems Planning Council (GISPC)

The Geographic Information Systems Planning Council was formed in 1997 to serve as a coordinating and technical support body for CAPCOG members and administration on projects with Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and related applications.
Committee liaison: Nik Pullias

Homeland Security Task Force (HSTF)

The Homeland Security Task Force was formed in 2002 to assist CAPCOG in the development, implementation, review and update of a comprehensive plan to serve the needs of the region in the event of terrorist activities, and to evaluate and make recommendations on grant applications.
Committee liaison: Martin Ritchey

Law Enforcement Education Committee (LEEC)

The Law Enforcement Education Committee was formed in 1977 to update and revise policies, set standards for the Basic Peace Officer Course entrance requirements, and set standards for specialized and mandated in-service training. This committee is required by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement.
Committee liaison: Mike Jennings

Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC)

The Solid Waste Advisory Committee was formed in 1993 to help coordinate and guide the implementation of the regional solid waste management plan and to score and prioritize applications for grant funds. This committee is required by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality.
Committee Liaison: Ken May

^ Back to Top