Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A


Capital Area Regional Transportation Planning Organization (CARTPO)

The Capital Area Regional Transportation Planning Organization (CARTPO) serves as a forum for elected officials to come together on transportation issues to recommend changes in policy and practice, advocate for legislation, recommend regional priorities, direct certain planning and data initiatives, oversee the federally-prescribed local consultation process, and collaborate with the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization.

CARTPO originally was created as a response to TEA-21 legislation, which called for state departments of transportation to work with officials in non-metropolitan areas when making transportation planning and programming decisions. CARTPO originally was one of several Rural Planning Organizations (RPOs) voluntarily created by Texas Councils of Governments to help address rural transportation needs. Past calls for projects in 2003 and 2004 resulted in funding $24 million in transportation projects within our counties by the Texas Transportation Commission. Projects from the 2005 call for projects were not able to be funded through TxDOT's traditional funding categories.

CARTPO's responsibilities consist of the following:

  • Providing a forum for elected officials and community leaders to learn about and discuss relevant transportation topics;
  • Evaluating and recommending projects with a regional impact to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT);
  • Overseeing research and education on financing mechanisms for transportation and related projects; 
  • Studying and recommending changes in statutes, rules, or policies related to state or federal transportation programs;
  • Coordinating with CAMPO on transportation issues;
  • Developing a regional mobility strategy for the ten-county area; and
  • Serving as an information clearinghouse for transportation related data.


CARTPO reevaluated its role in the transportation planning process during 2006 and on April 11, 2007 formalized its structure, and objectives into an adopted set of bylaws.

> Download the bylaws.


CARTPO membership comprises three categories: voting, ex-officio and associate. Voting membership is given to three elected officials from each of the 10 counties within the CAPCOG region, with representation from at least one municipality in each county suggested. Ex-officio and associate designations are nonvoting seats composed of officials from regional transportation stakeholders, other governmental entities, organizations or individuals.

> See CARTPO's membership roster.


CAPCOG Pecan Room
6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX  78744

> Contact Chris Schreck, CAPCOG planning and economic development director.

Other Regional and State Transportation Resources 

Lone Star Rail District Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO) Capital Area Transportation Authority
Capital Area Rural Transportation System (CARTS) Texas Department of Public Safety Texas Department of Transportation
Texas Transportation Institute The Greater Austin-San Antonio Corridor Council The Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority

Grant opportuntities

Transportation Alternatives Set-Aside (TA Set-Aside)

The Texas Department of Transportation, Public Transportation Division is requesting proposals for its 2017 TA Set-Aside Program Call for Projects. Project activities are limited to construction of pedestrian and bicycle infrastructure related projects in population areas less than 200,000. The deadline to submit projects is May 22, 2017
> Read more about the TA Set-Aside.

Highway Safety Engineering

Highway Safety Engineering uses crash data to research, design and implement projects that save lives and reduce the number of crashes on Texas roadways. Key initiatives include the Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP), Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) and the Systemic Widening Program (SSWP). The deadline to submit projects is May 24, 2017.
> Read more about the Highway Safety Engineering.


> Contact Chris Schreck, CAPCOG planning and economic development director.

 ^ Back to Top