Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
(512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A

Clean Air Coalition

Learn about the Central Texas Clean Air Coalition, including its purpose, membership, initiatives and upcoming meetings.


The Central Texas Clean Air Coalition, or the Clean Air Coalition, is a voluntary, unincorporated association that became affiliated with CAPCOG by a resolution adopted on Nov. 13, 2002. Its purpose:

  • Facilitate the development, adoption, and implementation of clean air plans to maintain compliance with the federal eight-hour ozone standard for the Bastrop, Caldwell, Hays, Travis, and Williamson counties.
  • Establish and monitor a regional effort toward the improvement of air quality.
  • Develop policies and strategies that will provide guidance for each of its independent governing bodies about actions that will achieve clean air in Central Texas. 
  • Work cooperatively to achieve clean air standards that will protect public health and yet allow local governments the flexibility to select measures best suited to each community's needs and resources.
  • Provide CAPCOG Executive Committee with recommendations for administering funding provided by local sources for the purpose of supporting the regional air quality plan or program implementation, assessment and improvement activities in Central Texas.

> Read the Central Texas Clean Air Coalition bylaws.
> Find out about the next meeting.


CAC has won a national award for its ozone-reduction efforts.

> Read about the award.

As part of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Ozone Advance, a national initiative involving states, tribes and local governments, CAPCOG's Air Quality program has worked with the Clean Air Coalition and other stakeholders to develop a new emission-reduction plan.

> Read the emission-reduction plan.


CAC membership comprises elected officials from the five-county Austin-Round Rock Metropolitan Statistical Area who represent governmental parties to the Central Texas 8-hour Ozone Flex Plan, a previous regional initiative to reduce ozone pollution. Also known as "8-O3 Flex," the plan built upon earlier initiatives such as the 1-hour O3 Flex Program and the Early Action Compact before transitioning to the Ozone Advance plan. 

All local governments that signed on to the 8-O3 Flex are members of the CAC: Bastrop County Caldwell County, Hays County, Travis County, Williamson County, City of Austin, City of Bastrop, City of Elgin, City of Lockhart, City of Luling, City of Round Rock, City of San Marcos 

Since the 8-O3 Flex Plan's adoption, four additional jurisdictions have joined the CAC: City of Georgetown, City of Cedar Park, City of Sunset Valley, City of Taylor, City of Hutto

> Get the membership roster.
> Contact Andrew Hoekzema if interested - as a local jurisdiction - in joining CAC.


The Clean Air Coalition meets at a time, date and place specified by the Coalition Chair, generally the second Wednesday of selected months. Meetings are open to the public and announced on CAPCOG's website once scheduled.

Next meeting

10-11 a.m., Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2015
CAPCOG Pecan Room
6800 Burleson Road, Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

> Read the agenda.

> For agendas, minutes and supporting materials from other past CAC meetings, contact Andrew Hoekzema.


> Contact Air Quality Program Manager Andrew Hoekzema.