Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A

In the News

CAPCOG announces 2017 Air Central Texas Awards

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

The Capital Area Council of Governments (CAPCOG) celebrated the organizations and individuals who have made significant contributions to the region’s air quality at the Air Central Texas Awards in November. The awards promoted future community action to support the goals of the region’s ongoing air quality planning efforts.

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Chairman Dr. Bryan Shaw delivered a keynote speech during the ceremony that spoke to the efforts of the commission and the region to keep the region’s air healthy. Staying within attainment of the national ozone standard as the Austin region has done for decades “is based on the hard work of the people like the ones you are recognizing here today,” Shaw said.

Organizations that received awards this year ran programs that helped educate the public about air quality issues, made efforts to influence air quality policies and encouraged drivers to seek more sustainable commuting options. They included:

  • City of Austin - Transportation Department - 2017 Air Central Texas Public Sector Award
  • Movability Austin - 2017 Air Central Texas Private/Nonprofit Sector Award
  • Emmis Communications Austin - 2017 Air Central Texas Media Award
  • Cathy Stephens, Travis County - 2017 Bill Gill Central Texas Air Quality Leadership Award

Winners of the 2017 Air Central Texas (ACT) Awards  pose with Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Chairman Dr. Bryan Shaw. Pictured from left to right are Shaw, Alix Scarborough and Thomas Butler with Movability Austin, Cathy Stephens with Travis County, Cari Buetow with the City of Austin Transportation Department, and Kathy Good with Emmis Communications.

> Learn more about the Air Quality Program.

» View All News