Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A

In the News

CAPCOG Executive Committee member takes TARC reins

Friday, September 27, 2013

TARC Immediate Past President Ramsey Cantu (right), mayor of Eagle Pass, Texas, passes the gavel to newly elected President Maurice Pitts, a Lee County Commissioner and CAPCOG Executive Committee member.

Lee County Commissioner Maurice Pitts, a CAPCOG Executive Committee member, has been elected president of the Texas Association of Regional Councils. The statewide organization, established in 1973, provides training, outreach, legislative representation and other support to area councils of governments.

Pitts, who has represented the Capital Area Council of Governments on the TARC board in various capacities since 2003, starts his one-year term immediately.  

The longtime commissioner brings a robust record of public service to his new role, with nearly 21 years and counting as a Lee County elected official and service on groups such as the Giddings Area Chamber of Commerce Executive Board, the Giddings Economic Development Corp. Advisory Board, the Capital Area Economic Development District and the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality's Municipal Solid Waste Management and Resource Recovery Advisory Committee.

Pitts' tireless work with CAPCOG spans two decades. With his interest in recycling and solid waste, he joined CAPCOG's Solid Waste Advisory Committee in 1994 and continues to serve. Since first being elected to CAPCOG's Executive Committee in 1999, Pitts led the board as chair in 2007, has spearheaded legislative issues and has helped recruit new elected officials to the agency. 

Pitts also is a founding member of CAPCOG's Capital Area Regional Transportation Planning Organization, launched in 1999, for which he continues to serve as vice chair.

» View All News