Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A

In the News

CAPCOG seeks nominations for Jack Griesenbeck Award

Monday, October 13, 2014

The Capital Area Council of Governments will accept nominations for its annual Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award until Nov. 7.

Named after Bastrop County Judge Jack Griesenbeck, who was CAPCOG’s first chairman, the award traditionally honors someone that consistently advocates a regional and multijurisdictional approach through their work with local governments, nonprofits, and other organization. Nominations can be either an elected official or a volunteer who has played a pivotal role in bringing the spirit of regionalism to the 10-county CAPCOG region.

CAPCOG has honored individuals with this award for more than 10 years. Previous recipients of the award include:

  • Mayor Kirk Watson, City of Austin
  • Dr. W. Neal Kocurek
  • Robert J. Huston, Chair of Texas Commission of Environmental Quality
  • Mayor Ray Sanders, City of Lockhart
  • Bob Daigh, Texas Department of Transportation Austin District Engineer
  • Texas Senator Gonzalo Barrientos
  • Mike Simpson, City of Austin and Texas Radio Coalition
  • County Judge H.T. Wright, Caldwell County
  • Police Chief Mark Whitacre, City of Marble Falls
  • Texas Senator Troy Fraser
  • Mike Fisher, Emergency Management Coordinator of Bastrop County
  • Seth S. Searcy, Attorney at Law

To submit nominations to CAPCOG, download the form and submit it to Mason W. Canales, the CAPCOG member services coordinator, by email or fax, 512-916-6001, by Nov. 7. The recipient of the award will be announced at the Dec. 10 CAPCOG General Assembly meeting.

> Download the Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award nomination form.
> Contact Mason W. Canales, the CAPCOG member services coordinator.
> Read about last year’s honoree, Seth S. Searcy.

» View All News