Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A

In the News

CTRMA Chair receives CAPCOG Regionalism Award

Thursday, December 13, 2018

CAPCOG presented Ray Wilkerson, Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority chair, with its 2018 Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award on Wednesday at its annual membership meeting.

“Ray has spent decades volunteering and making a difference in Central Texas through his work on critical regional issues,” said CAPCOG Executive Committee member and Williamson County Commissioner Cynthia Long, who presented the award to Wilkerson. “Few people have given as much to Central Texas and beyond as Ray Wilkerson. I am honored to congratulate my friend and mentor on receiving the Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award for 2018.”

The award is named after a former Bastrop County judge who served as CAPCOG’s first chair in 1970 and then became the first president of the Texas Association of Regional Councils — the state association representing Texas’ 24 councils of governments. It honors a person who plays a pivotal role in strengthening the Capital Area through their actions and who consistently advocates a regional and multijurisdictional approach through their work with local governments and other organizations. Wilkerson has been instrumental in expanding the regional transportation network by working on projects such as US Highway 183 and State Highway 45. He also is a member of the Colorado River Foundation Tributary League Endowment and Colorado River Land Trust. He was a founding member of the Colorado River Alliance, which champions the long-term vitality of the Texas Colorado River through education and engagement, and is a former Lower Colorado River Authority chair.

“Regionalism is going to be the only success of what is going to make Central Texas work, transportation is not for one city it is for everybody…” Wilkerson said. “Let’s continue to work together, so that we understand regional is a word in everything we are talking about, and it is not just one area.”

Other Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism award recipients include Texas Senator Kirk Watson; Texas Representative Paul Workman; Dr. W. Neal Kocurek; Robert J Huston, former Texas Commission on Environmental Quality chair; former Texas Senator Troy Fraser; former Texas Senator Gonzalo Barrientos; and Bob Daigh, former Texas Department of Transportation Austin District Engineer.

> Read more about Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award.

» View All News