Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A

In the News

Hays County EMC earns Phill Parmer Volunteer Award

Tuesday, January 08, 2019

CAPCOG gave Hays County Emergency Management Coordinator and Director Kharley Smith its Phill Parmer Volunteer Award for supporting the region through CAPCOG’s advisory committees, responding to regional disasters, and educating others on training and response best practices.

“Smith is much deserved of the volunteer award due to her exemplary work with school safety and working within many committees at CAPCOG,” said Martin Ritchey, CAPCOG Homeland Security director. “She has a depth of knowledge and experience that is a great value to all her colleagues and peers.”

Hays County Emergency Management Director and Coordinator Kharley Smith (middle right) poses with Hays County Commissioners (from left to right) Walt Smith, Ray Whisenant and Debbie Ingalsbe.

Smith has served numerous years on CAPCOG’s Homeland Security Task Force and Criminal Justice Advisory Committee, both which prioritize grant funding and coordinate regional planning efforts. She also has been instrumental in promoting WarnCentralTexas — CAPCOG’s regional notification system — and helped conduct CAPCOG’s School Safety Symposium by sharing information about Hays County’s School Safety Protocol. During 2018, she also assisted with the response to the Hill County Floods in Burnet and Llano counties.

The Phill Parmer Volunteer Award is named after CAPCOG’s longest serving Aging Advisory Council member from Llano County who volunteered as an ombudsman and advocated senior issues in the legislature.

> Read more about the CAPCOG Homeland Security Division.

» View All News