Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A

In the News

Nominations now open for CAPCOG’s 2014 Executive Committee

Monday, September 23, 2013

With a newly elected nominating committee in place, nominations are open through Wednesday, Oct. 2, 2013, for the Capital Area Council of Governments’ 2014 Executive Committee. 

> Learn more about CAPCOG’s Executive Committee

The 28-member Executive Committee, CAPCOG's governing body, largely comprises city and county elected officials who provide direction to CAPCOG staff on program implementation, budgets, contracts and general policies and procedures for managing the agency. It also serves as the board of managers for the newly created Capital Area Emergency Communications District, the first COG-managed 9-1-1 district in the nation.

Committee members serve a one-year term from January through December and meet at 10 a.m. on second Wednesdays. 

> Get the self-nomination form for eligible local elected officials  

The Executive Committee includes three nonvoting seats for state legislators representing Texas Planning Region 12. Except for the nonvoting seats, only elected officials who are from CAPCOG member cities and counties and serve as their respective jurisdiction’s official General Assembly representative can be nominated.

Jurisdictions with a vacancy on the General Assembly can appoint a representative simultaneously with nominating an Executive Committee candidate. 

> Get the self-nomination form for eligible state legislators

The bylaws require the nominating committee to consider geographic diversity. Continued efforts to maintain a diverse committee also include a balance of city and county representatives from large and small jurisdictions while also taking into consideration a candidate’s support and involvement in various CAPCOG activities. 

CAPCOG Executive Director Betty Voights will present the nominating committee’s eventual slate of candidates to the General Assembly for a December vote as required by agency bylaws. 

The eight-member nominating committee, also selected from the General Assembly, includes the following participants:

  • Judge Tom D. Bonn, Caldwell County
  • Commissioner Will Conley, Hays County
  • Judge Donna Klaeger, Burnet County
  • Commissioner Cynthia Long, Williamson County
  • Council Member Don Tracy, City of Cedar Park
  • Mayor Caroline Murphy, City of Bee Cave
  • Mayor Debbie Holland, City of Hutto
  • Mayor Alan McGraw, City of Round Rock

> Learn more about CAPCOG's General Assembly

» View All News