Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A

In the News

Nominations open for Executive Committee, Regionalism award

Monday, September 12, 2016

County and city elected officials interested in serving on the 2017 CAPCOG Executive Committee should submit their nominations before Sept. 30  by using the forms they will receive in the mail after Sept. 9. The 29-member committee serves as CAPCOG’s governing body providing direction to staff on program implementation, budgets, contracts and general policies and procedures. It also serves as the Capital Area Emergency Communications District’s board of managers.

Twenty-five Executive Committee positions are for county and city officials, the remaining four seats are for state legislators representing any portion of CAPCOG’s 10-county region. City and county officials must serve as their jurisdictions’ General Assembly representative to qualify for the Executive Committee. Their jurisdiction must also have paid their dues by Dec. 1 before being elected at the December General Assembly meeting.

> For more information about the election process read CAPCOG’s bylaws.
> Submit Executive Committee nominations to Michelle Mooney.

Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award

CAPCOG also is soliciting nominations for this year’s Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award. Named for CAPCOG's first chairman in 1970 and the former Bastrop County Judge, the award recognizes a person who consistently advocates for regionalism and takes a multijurisdictional approach when working with local governments, nonprofits and other organizations.

> Get the Griesenbeck nomination form (.pdf).
> Download the Griesenbeck nomation form (.docx).
> Griesenbeck award nominations should be submitted to Mason Canales by 5 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 4.

» View All News