Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A

In the News

Regional leadership award: Nov. 1 nominations deadline nears

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Members of the Capital Area Council of Governments can still submit their pick for the Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award, with nominations closing Nov. 1, 2012.

The ninth annual award, named for CAPCOG's first chairman in 1970, honors significant efforts in regional cooperation within the association's 10-county Central Texas area. Former Bastrop County Judge Jack Griesenbeck understood the need for collaboration across city and county lines and played a key role in creating the 24-member Texas Association of Regional Councils.

Nominees can include volunteers, community leaders or elected officials, including non-CAPCOG members. Past honorees include state Sen. Troy Fraser; Kirk Watson, former mayor of Austin; Neal Kocurek, former chairman of the Envision Central Texas project; Robert Huston, former chairman of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality; Ray Sanders, former Lockhart mayor and CAPCOG Executive Committee member; Bob Daigh, former district engineer of the Texas Department of Transportation; former Austin-area Sen. Gonzalo Barrientos; and former Caldwell County Judge H. T. Wright.

The 2012 winner will be announced at the Dec. 12 CAPCOG Annual Membership Meeting and Luncheon in Austin.

> Download the nomination form

> Learn about CAPCOG's Dec. 12 annual meeting

» View All News