Central Texas Clean Air Coalition (CAC)

The Central Texas Clean Air Coalition is a voluntary, unincorporated association that became affiliated with CAPCOG by a Nov. 13, 2002 resolution to discuss policies and best practices related to air quality.
Policy & Advisory Committees


  • Facilitate the development, adoption, and implementation of clean air plans to maintain compliance with the federal eight-hour ozone standard for Bastrop, Caldwell, Hays, Travis, and Williamson counties
  • Establish and monitor a regional effort toward the improvement of air quality
  • Develop policies and strategies that will provide guidance for each of its independent governing bodies about actions that will achieve clean air in Central Texas
  • Work cooperatively to achieve clean air standards that will protect public health and yet allow local governments the flexibility to select measures best suited to each community’s needs and resources
  • Provide CAPCOG Executive Committee with recommendations for administering funding provided by local sources for the purpose of supporting the regional air quality plan or program implementation, assessment and improvement activities in Central Texas


As part of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Ozone Advance Program, a national initiative involving states, tribes and local governments, the CAPCOG Air Quality Program worked with the CAC and other stakeholders to develop and implement an emission-reduction plan, the Ozone Advance Program Action Plan.

Read the emission-reduction plan.

Membership and Bylaws

CAC membership comprises of elected officials from the five-county Austin-Round Rock Metropolitan Statistical Area. All local governments that signed the Central Texas 8-hour Ozone Flex Plan (8-O3 Flex), a previous regional initiative to reduce ozone pollution, are members of the CAC. They include Bastrop, Caldwell, Hays, Travis and Williamson counties; and the cities of Austin, Bastrop, Elgin, Lockhart, Luling, Round Rock, and San Marcos. Since the 8-O3 Flex Plan’s adoption, additional jurisdictions have joined the CAC. They include the cities of Georgetown, Cedar Park, Sunset Valley, Taylor, Hutto, Bee Cave, Buda, Leander and Lakeway.


The CAC meets at a time, date and place specified by the coalition chair, generally the second Wednesday of selected months. Meetings are open to the public. Check the events section below for upcoming meeting details, such as time, date and location.

Contact (Rosi)ta Patterson, CAPCOG Regional Planning & Services administrative coordinator, for previous agendas and minutes.

Clean Air Coalition Advisory Committee (CACAC)

The CACAC is a subcommittee of the coalition. Its member share data, best practices and other information to help jurisdictions implement the Ozone Advanced Program (OAP) Action Plan, an ongoing regional initiative to reduce ozone pollution.

The CACAC  includes staff representatives from cities and counties participating in the OAP Action Plan and representatives from CAPCOG, the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization, Texas Department of Transportation, Capital Area Metropolitan Transit Authority, CLEAN AIR Force, Sierra Club, Lower Colorado River Authority, Austin Energy, HOLT CAT, Green Mountain Energy, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6.

See who serves on the committee.


CACAC meetings are generally scheduled a few weeks before a scheduled CAC meeting. Check the events section below for upcoming meeting details, such as time, date and location.

Contact Anton Cox, CAPCOG air quality program manager, for meeting details.