CAECD Board of Managers | Summary Minutes



10:30 a.m. or upon adjournment of the Executive Committee, Wednesday, Sept. 14, 2022 Hilton Austin Airport 9515 Hotel Drive Austin, Texas 78719

Present (23)

Mayor Brandt Rydell, City of Taylor, Chair Judge James Oakley, Burnet County, 1st Vice Chair Mayor Lew White, City of Lockhart, 2nd Vice Chair Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe, Hays County, Secretary Mayor Jane Hughson, City of San Marcos, **Parliamentarian**

Judge Paul Pape, Bastrop County, Immediate Past Chair Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, City of Austin Mayor Connie Schroeder, City of Bastrop Council Member Kevin Hight, City of Bee Cave Judge Brett Bray, Blanco County

Commissioner Joe Don Dockery, Burnet County

Judge Hoppy Haden, Caldwell County Judge Joe Weber, Fayette County Council Member Ron Garland, City of Georgetown Council Member Esme Mattke Longoria, City of Leander Commissioner Steven Knobloch, Lee County Judge Ron Cunningham, Llano County Mayor Pro Tem Doug Weiss, City of Pflugerville Council Member Matthew Baker, City of Round Rock Council Member Janice Bruno, City of Smithville Commissioner Ann Howard, Travis County Commissioner Brigid Shea, Travis County Commissioner Cynthia Long, Williamson County

Absent (5)

Commissioner Russ Boles, Williamson County Representative John Cyrier Representative Celia Israel

Representative Terry Wilson Representative Erin Zwiener

- 1. Call to Order and opening remarks by the Chair Mayor Rydell called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m.
- 2. Consider Approving the Minutes for the July 13, 2022 CAECD Board of Managers Meeting Mayor Rydell asked for approval of the minutes. A motion was made by Commissioner Ingalsbe to approve the July 13, 2022, CAECD Board of Managers Meeting Minutes. Judge Oakley seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.
- 3. Consider Approving Allocation of Additional 9-1-1 Call Taking Workstation Georgetown Emergency **Communications Center**

Renee Bell, Assistant Director – Operations, Emergency Communications Mr. Richard Morales, the CAPCOG emergency communications division director, said Georgetown

requested two new call taking workstations at its emergency communications center. Since CAPCOG has started the process of buying new call handling systems, it has recommended to not purchase the workstations but to provide Georgetown with an existing one currently at CAPCOG's offices.

Mr. Morales said CAPCOG staff and the CAECD Strategic Advisory Committee reviewed the Georgetown center's call volume and the COG's public safety point answering system (emergency communications center) policy and recommended that Georgetown obtain one of the two requested. Mr. Morales said the center may qualify for the second by the time the new systems are purchased.

A motion was made by Commissioner Long to allocate an additional 9-1-1 call taking workstation to Georgetown. Council Member Ron Garland seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Consider Approving Appointments to Advisory Committee Deborah Brea, Executive Assistant Ms. Brea said Lee County is seeking to appoint Gregory LeBlanc, Lee County emergency management coordinator, to the CAECD Strategic Advisory Committee.

A motion was made by Commissioner Long to approve the appointment. Commissioner Shea seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Staff Reports

Betty Voights, Executive Director

Ms. Voights had no staff reports.

6. Adjourn

Mayor Rydell adjourned the meeting at 11:10 a.m.

Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe, Secretary

Board of Managers

Capital Area Emergency Communications District

10/12/2622 Date