CAECD Board of Managers | Summary Minutes 10:30 a.m. or upon adjournment of the Executive Committee, Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2022



10:30 a.m. or upon adjournment of the Executive Committee, Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2022
6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, Texas 78744

Present (18)

Mayor Brandt Rydell, City of Taylor, Chair
Judge James Oakley, Burnet County, 1st Vice Chair
Mayor Lew White, City of Lockhart, 2nd Vice Chair
Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe, Hays County, Secretary
Mayor Jane Hughson, City of San Marcos,

Parliamentarian

Judge Paul Pape, Bastrop County, Immediate Past Chair Mayor Connie Schroeder, City of Bastrop Judge Brett Bray, Blanco County Commissioner Joe Don Dockery, Burnet County Judge Joe Weber, Fayette County
Council Member Ron Garland, City of Georgetown
Commissioner Steven Knobloch, Lee County
Judge Ron Cunningham, Llano County
Mayor Pro Tem Doug Weiss, City of Pflugerville
Council Member Matthew Baker, City of Round Rock
Council Member Janice Bruno, City of Smithville
Commissioner Russ Boles, Williamson County
Commissioner Cynthia Long, Williamson County

Absent (10)

Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, Cit of Austin Council Member Kevin Hight, City of Bee Cave Judge Hoppy Haden, Caldwell County Council Member Esme Mattke Longoria, City of Leander Commissioner Ann Howard, Travis County Commissioner Brigid Shea, Travis County Representative John Cyrier Representative Celia Israel Representative Terry Wilson Representative Erin Zwiener

- Call to Order and opening remarks by the Chair Mayor Rydell called the meeting to order at 10:52 a.m.
- Consider Approving the Minutes for the October 12, 2022 CAECD Board of Managers Meeting
 Mayor Rydell asked for approval of the Oct. 12, 2022, CAECD Board of Manager Meeting minutes.
 Commissioner Long made a motion to approve the minutes. Mayor Schroeder seconded the motion. It
 passed unanimously.
- 3. Consider Amending FY 2023 Budget to allocate funds for Operational Reserves & Capital Equipment Replacements

Richard Morales, Jr., Director of Emergency Communications

Mr. Morales said there were two items that need to be adjusted in the FY 2023 budget. The first was a \$500,000 transfer into the operational reserves with the goal of reaching \$13 million. This was not done when the budget was approved in July since CAPCOG didn't know if it would receive \$8.8 million in grant funding to purchase new call handling equipment. The second funding change was an addition to the UPS project which involves replacing back-up power in all emergency call centers. An additional \$95,000 was needed to complete the project.

Commissioner Long made a motion to amend the FY 2023 Budget to allocate funds for the operational reserves and capital equipment replacement funds. Mayor Schroeder seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

4. Consider Approving Appointments to Advisory Committee

Deborah Brea, Executive Assistant

Ms. Brea said Council Member Kelly recommended Austin Fire Department Battalion Chief Andrew Chelf to be appointed to the CAECD Strategic Advisory Committee.

Judge Oakley made a motion to approve Chief Chelf's appointment. Commissioner Long seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

5. Staff Reports

Betty Voights, Executive Director

Ms. Voights said Hays County had built a consolidated Emergency Communications Center (ECC) several years ago, and the city of Kyle decided to relocate its ECC to the center; however, asked if CAPOCG would allow and fund a move back to a ECC in Kyle. At that time, the board decided it would help fund a Kyle relocation if it was within five years of moving into the joint facility. Ms. Voights said it has been more than five years and Kyle is seeking to leave the consolidated ECC and has asked for financial assistance. She explained they had been provided a copy of the letter stating CAPCOG's position and has asked them for an Interlocal agreement to establish a requirement to reimburse CAPCOG for relocation costs if they move forward.

6. Adjourn

Mayor Rydell adjourned the meeting at 11 a.m.

Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe, Secretary

Board of Managers

Capital Area Emergency Communications District

Date Date