CAPCOG General Assembly | Minutes



11:30 a.m. Wednesday, December 14, 2022 Hilton Austin Airport 9515 Hotel Drive Austin, Texas 78719

1. Call to Order and Opening Remarks

Taylor Mayor Brandt Rydell, Chair

Mayor Rydell called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m. and welcomed the General Assembly representatives and CAPCOG's advisory and policy committee members.

2. Approve Minutes of the September 14, 2022 Meeting

Mayor Brandt Rydell, Chair

Mayor Rydell asked for approval of the Sept. 14, 2022 meeting minutes. San Marcos Mayor Jane Hughson made a motion to approve the minutes. Llano County Judge Ron Cunningham seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

3. Presentation of Nominating Committee Recommendations for the Executive Committee for 2023 Term Betty Voights, Executive Director

Ms. Voights explained the General Assembly is the governing body that elects the Executive Committee after it had appointed the Nominating Committee at the September meeting. The Committee evaluates the self-nominations to the board and recommends a slate:

For counties:

- Bastrop County Commissioner Clara Beckett
- Blanco County Judge Brett Bray
- Burnet County Judge James Oakley
- Caldwell County Judge Hoppy Haden
- Fayette County Judge Elect Dan Mueller
- Hays County Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe

For Cities:

- Austin Council Member Mackenzie Kelly
- Round Rock Council Member Matt Baker
- Georgetown Council Member Ron Garland
- Leander Council Member Esmeralda Mattke Longoria
- Pflugerville Mayor Pro Tem Doug Weiss

For the At Large positions:

- Burnet County Commissioner Joe Don Dockery
- Williamson County Commissioner Cynthia Long
- Bastrop Mayor Connie Schroeder

4. Elect 2023 Executive Committee

Mayor Brandt Rydell, Chair

- Lee County Commissioner Steven Knobloch
- Llano County Judge Ron Cunningham
- Travis County Commissioner Ann Howard and Judge Andy Brown
- Williamson County Commissioner Russ Boles
- San Marcos Mayor Jane Hughson
- Bee Cave Council Member Kevin Hight
- Blanco Mayor Rachel Lumpee
- Smithville Council Member Janice Bruno
- Taylor Mayor Brandt Rydell
- Lockhart Mayor Lew White

For Legislators:

- State Senator Pete Flores
- State Rep. Stan Gerdes
- State Rep. Terry Wilson

Mayor Rydell called for vote on electing the Executive Committee. Leander Mayor Christine DeLisle made a motion to elect the Executive Committee as presented. Bastrop County Judge Paul Pape seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

5. Presentation/Update on Regional Transportation Projects

Tucker Ferguson, Austin District Engineer, TxDOT

Mr. Ferguson said a lot is happening in the Austin TxDOT District; it's about to see a generational project with the reconstruction of I-35 through downtown Austin. He said the district has almost \$3 billion in projects under construction for a total of about 131 projects underway. Mr. Ferguson noted about 38 million miles are traveled through the Austin TxDOT District every day, and most of those miles are traveled by personal vehicles. He said that the district has four of the top 100 most congested areas within the state; one of the most congested areas is in downtown Austin, which is now number three in the state but was formerly the most congested spot in Texas two years ago.

Mr. Ferguson discussed the Mobility 35 Program, which includes several projects to expand and improve traffic on I-35 from Round Rock to south of Austin; since 2011, about 31 projects have been slated along the I-35 corridor in the program area and 16 of them have been completed with eight currently under construction. He also discussed plans for constructing managed lanes that will allow **for heavier occupied** vehicles to travel faster through the area and work to improve access roads and as well as to keep traffic moving. Mr. Ferguson said that TxDOT has projects that will allow traffic to divert from downtown onto 183, 290, 45, and 130 in order to avoid the reconstruction on I-35 through downtown and described some aspects of the project.

6. Presentation of Awards

Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award

Mayor Brandt Rydell, Chair

Mayor Rydell said the recipient of the Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award is chosen based on their dedication to CAPCOG's mission of regionalism. This year CAPCOG is recognizing Charles "Chuck" Brotherton who has been active in the region since 2005 when CAPCOG put together its first regional interoperability communications plan. Mr. Brotherton helped form the Texas Radio Coalition in 2007, was the first chair of CAPCOG's Homeland Security Task Force Long Term Interoperability Committee, and helped establish the Greater Austin/Travis Regional Radio System. He also has served on CAPCOG's Strategic Directions Committee and the CAECD Strategic Advisory Committee and has worked with CAPCOG for more than 20 years.

Mr. Borther accepted the award and said thank you.

Phill Parmer Volunteer Service Award and Recognition of CAPCOG Committees

Betty Voights, Executive Director

Ms. Voights said CAPCOG has a lot of advisory and policy committees, and it is very thankful to the people who serve on those while she recognized the attending committee members. She noted that the Phill Parmer Volunteer Service Award is staff-driven and named after a longtime Aging Advisory Committee member who served until he was 96. Ms. Voights announced that this year's award was going to Dawn Moore from Fayette County and Julie Sommerfeld from Bastrop County. The pair started serving on CAPCOG committees in 2003, including the-then 9-1-1 Advisory Committee, and have continued to serve on 9-1-1-

related committees until today. Both also have served on the GIS Planning Council. Ms. Voights said she hopes they continue their great service for many more years.

Mr. Moore was present to receive the award.

Clean Air Coalition 20th Anniversary

Round Rock Council Member Matt Baker, Chair

Council Member Baker thanked the previous chairs of the Clean Air Coalition for achieving a lot in through partnership with the state and doing public education. He noted that CAPCOG has grown its Air Quality Program from one Air Quality Monitor to eight with two more planned for the upcoming year. Council Member Baker said that the Austin-Round Rock-Georgetown MSA is the largest MSA to have never exceeded the national standards, and the Clean Air Coalition has grown from 12 founding members to more than 40.

He said that, as part of the 20th anniversary, it is an honor to recognize the Air Central Texas Awards recipients. The awards were started to 2016 to celebrate the contributions organizations and individuals make to improve regional air quality. Anton Cox, CAPCOG Air Quality Program Manager, presented the awards:

- Air Central Texas Outstanding Organization Award The city of Bastrop, CARTS and the Lone Star Clean Fuels Alliance.
- Air Central Texas Media Award David Yeomans
- Air Central Texas Environmental Education Award Dr. Amy Concilio
- Air Central Texas Research Award Dr. Paul Walter
- Air Aware Student Leadership Award Ethan Tobias

Mr. Andrew Hoekzema, CAPCOG Deputy Executive Director, announced former CAPCOG employee Christiane Heggelund as the 2022 recipient of the Bill Gill Central Texas Air Quality Leadership Award. He said that during Heggelund's short CAPCOG tenure, she was very impactful in performing technical work, planning and outreach for air quality, and helping CAPCOG receive two EPA grants to start researching particulate matter air quality. Mr. Hoekzema noted the awards' recipients were selected by Clean Air Coalition members and the Bill Gill Award is named after CAPCOG's first Air Quality Program Manager who spent 44 years working in air quality.

7. Adjourn

Mayor Rydell adjourned the meeting at 1:06 p.m.

Mayor Pro Tem Matthew Baker, Secretary Executive Committee Capital Area Council of Governments

9/13/2023