CAPCOG WESTS *

CAPCOG General Assembly | Summary Minutes

11:30 a.m. Wednesday, December 13, 2023

Austin Southpark Hotel

4140 Governors Row

Austin, Texas 78744

1. Call to Order and Opening Remarks

Burnet County Judge James Oakley, Chair Judge Oakley called the meeting to order at 12 p.m. and welcomed all the CAPCOG General Assembly representatives and the attending advisory committee members.

2. Approve Minutes for the September 13, 2023 Meeting

Judge James Oakley, Chair

Judge Oakley asked the General Assembly to consider the Sept. 13, 2023, meeting minutes. Mayor Jane Hughson, of San Marcos, made a motion to approve the minutes. Ms. Connie Schroeder, of Bastrop, seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

3. Presentation of Nominating Committee Recommendations for the Executive Committee for 2024 Term

Betty Voights, Executive Director

Ms. Voights said the General Assembly appointed the Nominating Committee in September to make a recommendation of 2024 Executive Committee members based on self-nominations from elected officials, the size of jurisdictions and their jurisdictions' geographic location. She said they met on October 11 and determined the recommended slate of members to present to the General Assembly. It included:

For County Positions:

Bastrop County Commissioner Clara Beckett Blanco County Judge Brett Bray Burnet County Judge James Oakley Caldwell County Judge Hoppy Haden Fayette County Judge Dan Mueller Hays County Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe

Lee County Commissioner Steven Knobloch Llano County Judge Ron Cunningham Travis County Judge Andy Brown Travis County Commissioner Ann Howard Williamson County Commissioner Russ Boles

For the City of Austin Position:

Council Member Mackenzie Kelly

For Cities over 100,000 Population Position:

Round Rock Mayor Pro Tem Matt Baker

For Cities between 25,000 and 100,000 Positions:

Georgetown Council Member Ron Garland Pflugerville Mayor Pro Tem Doug Weiss Leander Mayor Pro Tem Esmeralda Mattke Longoria San Marcos Mayor Jane Hughson

For Cities under 25,000 Positions:

Bee Cave Council Member Kevin Hight Smithville Council Member Janice Bruno Taylor Mayor Brandt Rydell Lockhart Mayor Lew White Granite Shoals Council Member Steve Hougen

For At-large Positions:

Bastrop Mayor Lyle Nelson Burnet County Commissioner Joe Don Dockery Williamson County Commissioner Cynthia Long

For State Legislators Positions

Senator Pete Flores Representative Stan Gerdes Representative Vicki Goodwin

Ms. Voights also said the Nominating Committee makes a recommendation for the Executive Committee's officers and the board elects those positions in January. They included:

Chair Lockhart Mayor Lew White

First Vice Chair Hays County Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe Second Vice Chair Round Rock Mayor Pro Tem Matt Baker

Secretary Blanco Judge Brett Bray

Parliamentarian Llano County Judge Ron Cunningham Immediate Past Chair Burnet County Judge James Oakley

4. Election of 2024 Executive Committee

Judge James Oakley, Chair

Judge Oakley asked all those in favor of those recommended on the slate to vote. The slate was approved unanimously.

5. Presentation of Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award

Judge James Oakley, Chair

Judge Oakley said that this year's Jack Griesenbeck Leadership in Regionalism Award recipient epitomizes a high level of customer services especially at his organizations. He announced that Tucker Ferguson, TxDOT Austin Area District Engineer as the award's recipient.

Mr. Ferguson said receiving the award was amazing and unexpected. He said he couldn't say enough about relationships he has built around the region as he worked in partnership with many of the people in the room on projects. He also thanked his staff.

6. Recognition of Advisory Committee Members and Presentation of 2023 Volunteer Service Award

Betty Voights, Executive Director

Ms. Voights recognized and thanked the work of all the CAPCOG advisory committee members who were present. She said each year staff recognizes someone from one the committees who has gone above and beyond in their work as a volunteer committee member. She announced that this year's recipient was Richard McHale, who works for the city of Austin and services on the Solid Waste Advisory Committee.

7. Air Central Texas Awards and Bill Gill Air Quality Leadership Award

Anton Cox, Air Quality Program Manager

Mr. Cox said the Air Central Texas Awards have been around since 2016 and help recognized excellence in working to preserve the region's air quality. The winners this year included:

Mr. Cox said the Air Central Texas Awards have been around since 2016 and help recognized excellence in working to preserve the region's air quality. The winners this year included:

- Movability, Inc. received the Air Central Texas Outstanding Organization Award.
- Rich Segal, with KXAN, received the Air Central Texas Media Award
- Dr. Peter Beck, at St. Edward's University, received the Air Central Texas Environmental Education Award posthumously.
- Olivia Prior, a St. Edward's University student, received the Air Aware Student Leadership Award.
- Bill Gibbs, the former Clean Air Force executive director, received the Bill Gill Central Texas Air Quality Leadership Award.

8. Panel Discussion on Legislative Issues

Stan Gerdes, Texas Representative

Representative Gerdes said the property tax cut was among the most important accomplishments of the legislature during the last session, but for him personally, it was the creation of a rural law enforcement grant that provided \$350 million for counties law enforcement agencies to supplement salaries.

Judge Oakley asked about the 14 amendments placed on the November ballot. Rep. Gerdes said all of them passed but the increase retirement age for judges. He noted that internet is important and expensive in the rural parts of the state as well as water and those items need to be addressed.

Rep. Gerdes said it was a good first term and he is planning for a second. He noted that he tried to involve local governments when working on his legislation since its those governments and their residents he is representing.

Ms. Voights asked about more possible direct funding for COG based law enforcement training as COGs work on an economy of scale and their basic police officer courses often support smaller local departments that can't afford to operate their own academies. She noted that CAPCOG's regional law enforcement academy operates on a very tight budget, does non-stop training, but its grant funds to operate are currently being supplemented by local funds. Mr. Gerdes said his office is working on interim items and funding for such law enforcement programs could be discussed.

Rep. Gerdes wrapped up his comments saying he hoped to continue serving his district and working with local governments.

Stanta 11,2024

9. Adjourn

Judge Oakley adjourned the meeting at 12:56 p.m.

Judge Ron Cunningham, Secretary
Executive Committee

Capital Area Council of Governments

CAPCOG General Assembly Summary Minutes | Dec. 13, 2023 | Page 3 of 3