

Executive Committee | Summary Minutes

10 a.m., Wednesday, December 11, 2024 Austin Southpark Hotel 4140 Governors Row Austin, Texas 78744

Present (19)

Mayor Lew White, City of Lockhart, Chair Judge Brett Bray, Blanco County, 1st Vice Chair Judge Ron Cunningham, Llano County, Secretary & Parliamentarian

Judge James Oakley, *Burnet County*, **Immediate Past Chair**

Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, City of Austin Commissioner Clara Beckett, Bastrop County Mayor Lyle Nelson, City of Bastrop Council Member Kevin Hight, City of Bee Cave

Absent (9)

Mr. Matthew Baker, City of Round Rock, 2nd Vice Chair Judge Dan Mueller, Fayette County Council Member Ron Garland, City of Georgetown Ms. Esmeralda Mattke Longoria, City of Leander Ms. Janice Bruno, City of Smithville Commissioner Joe Don Dockery, Burnet County
Judge Hoppy Haden, Caldwell County
Mayor Pro Tem Steve Hougen, City of Granite Shoals
Commissioner Walt Smith, Hays County
Commissioner Steven Knobloch, Lee County
Mayor Pro Tem Doug Weiss, City of Pflugerville
Mayor Jane Hughson, City of San Marcos
Mr. Brandt Rydell, City of Taylor
Judge Andy Brown, Travis County (10:29am arrival)
Commissioner Ann Howard, Travis County
Commissioner Russ Boles, Williamson County

Commissioner Cynthia Long, Williamson County Senator Pete Flores

Representative Stan Gerdes Representative Vikki Goodwin

1. Call to Order and Opening Remarks by the Chair

Mayor White called the meeting to order at 10:10 am. The pledge of allegiance, and the pledge to the Texas flag were conducted.

2. Consider Approving Minutes for the November 13, 2024, Meeting

Approval of the minutes, and a request to correct the typo with Mayor Hughson's name in the November 13, 2024 minutes. Mayor Hughson motioned to approve. Mayor Hougen seconded. The motioned passed unanimously.

3. Consider Adopting the 2025 Homeland Security Integrated Preparedness Plan (IPP) Martin Ritchey, Director of Homeland Security

Mr. Ritchey explained the IPP, and told asked the Board to consider approving the IPP. Councilmember Kelly motioned to approve. He explained that the IPP is an accumulation of all the preparedness that's done throughout the year. It's the guidebook that's utilized for the training and exercises for the upcoming year. Commissioner Smith seconded. The motioned passed unanimously.

4. Discussion of 2025 – 2026 Legislative Issues

Andrew Hoekzema, Deputy Executive Director

Mr. Miller explained that CAPCOG desires to connect and inform the Legislature of CAPCOG's functions. He explained the summary that Mr. Hoekzema composed. Mr. Hoekzema explained the summary is composed of issues that would have a financial impact on CAPCOG. He emphasized making the legislature aware of needed funding increase for the RLEA program, legislation related to training for CAPCOG programs, and additional funding for the solid waste program to name a few.

Ms. Voigts was asked for her input on issues CAPCOG should present to the legislature.

A closed executive session may be held on any of the above agenda items when legally justified pursuant to Subchapter D of the Texas Open Meetings Act (Texas Government Code Chapter 551).

Mr. Hoekzema informed the Board of the January 7th breakfast between CAPCOG and the legislators and their staff.

Mayor White mentioned the deannexation issue in Lockhart and other cities in Texas. He suggested putting an item on the agenda of the next CAPCOG meeting to discuss the issue.

Commissioner Howard invited CAPCOG staff to stop by she and Judge Brown's offices when they visit the capitol, and are in between meetings. They both agreed for their offices to be used as a homebase for CAPCOG staff when visiting legislators.

Judge Bray asked Ms. Voights a question about the 9-1-1 program. Ms. Voights said next session there has to be an increase in funds for 9-1-1.

Judge Bray suggested we ask our three legislative Board Members to invite their colleagues so there will be a good turnout.

Councilmember Kelly motioned to approve. Commissioner Dockery seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Consider Approving Committee Appointments Chris Miller, Executive Director

The meeting was adjourned at 10:56 a.m.

Commissioner Smith informed the Board of the two new appointees. Killian Sterling to replace Steve Floyd, and Anthony Hipolito is appointed as in the At Large position.

Commissioner Smith motioned to approve. Mayor Hughson seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

6. Staff Reports

Chris Miller, Executive Director

Mr. Miller informed the Board of the Annual Report coming in January. He reported on the county visits, and the upcoming county visits. Mr. Canales presented the departing Board Members with plaques.

7. Adjourn

Judge Ron Cunningham, Secretary	Date
Executive Committee	
Capital Area Council of Governments	