Executive Committee | Summary Minutes



10 a.m., Wednesday, March 12, 2025 CAPCOG Lantana Room 6800 Burleson Road Building 310, Suite 155 Austin, Texas 78744

Present (18)

Judge Brett Bray, Blanco County, Chair Council Member Doug Weiss, City of Pflugerville, 1st Vice Chair

Judge Ron Cunningham, *Llano County*, 2nd Vice Chair & Parliamentarian

Mayor Pro Tem Steve Hougen, City of Granite Shoals, Secretary

Mayor Lew White, City of Lockhart, Immediate Past Chair

Commissioner Clara Beckett, Bastrop County Council Member Kevin Hight, City of Bee Cave Judge Hoppy Haden, Caldwell County

Absent (4)

Judge Dan Mueller, Fayette County Council Member Ron Garland, City of Georgetown Commissioner Joe Don Dockery, Burnet County Commissioner Walt Smith, Hays County Council Member David McDonald, City of Leander Commissioner Steven Knobloch, Lee County Council Member Frank Ortega, City of Round Rock Council Member Cathy Meek, City of Smithville Council Member Robert Garcia, City of Taylor Judge Andy Brown, Travis County Commissioner Ann Howard, Travis County Commissioner Cynthia Long, Williamson County

Mayor Jane Hughson, City of San Marcos Commissioner Russ Boles, Williamson County

- Call to Order and Opening Remarks by the Chair The meeting was called to order at 10:05 a.m.
- 2. Pledge to U.S. and Texas Flag
- 3. Recognition of Guests

Mr. Zachary Uger of Congressman Michael McCall's Office introduced himself.Mr. Chuck Brotherton introduced himself.Ms. Brianna McBride, Policy Advisor for Commissioner Ann Howard introduced herself.

- Consider Approving Minutes for the February 12, 2025, Meeting Commissioner Long made a motion to approve the February 12, 2025 meeting minutes. Judge Cunningham seconded the motion.
- 5. Proclaiming Recognition of National Public Safety Telecommunicator's Week (April Jenna Barrington, 9-1-1 Assistant Director Policy and Administration

Ms. Barrington presented the Proclamation, recognizing National Public Safety Telecommunicator's Week, April 13-19, 2025. Mayor White made a motion to approve, and Judge Cunningham seconded the motion.

6. Consider Approval of the CAPCOG FY 2026 Homeland Security Grant Program Prioritized Project List and Proclamation.

Martin Ritchey, Director of Homeland Security

Mr. Ritchey presented the FY 2026 Homeland Security Grant. He requested approval for the proclamation. Judge Cunningham made a motion to approve the proclamation. Mayor White seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

7. Consider a Resolution Authorizing Submittal of the Homeland Security Grant Program Application for FY 2026 UASI Common Operating Picture Data Project by the Capital Area Council of Governments. Martin Ritchey, Director of Homeland Security

Mr. Ritchey presented and requested approval for the Resolution authorizing submittal of the Homeland Security Grant Program Application. Commissioner Long made a motion to approve, and Mayor Pro Tem Hougen seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

8. Regional Impact Presentation

Ms. Heather Page, Co-Founding Partner of the Shine Company- Community Film Industry Opportunities.

Ms. Page presented information on bringing more film tourism and production opportunities to the State of Texas. She explained all the aspects of film tourism. Commissioner Smith described how his district had fifteen productions going at one time. Commissioner Smith explained the logistics needed to make film production go smooth in his county. It involves contacting the constables' offices, coordinating with emergency services, and having traffic control. Council Member Meeks explained how Smithville is extremely engaged in film tourism as well. Council Member Meeks said, film tourism is a priority for her district. Judge Bray asked how the company dealt with towns that did not want to participate in film tourism. Ms. Page explained their primary focus is studio development.

9. Consider Approving Appointments to Advisory Committees Andrew Hoekzema, Deputy Executive Director

Mr. Hoekzema presented the AAC, CJAC, GISP, HSTF, and SWAC appointments. He asked the Board to approve the seven nominations that were received. The nominations received are: Brent Richards, AAA; Dr. Eloise Sepeda, CJAC; Victoria Berry; CJAC; Toby Fletcher, CJAC; Tracie Davidson, GIS; Joseph Chacon, HSTF; and Chad Collier, SWAC. Mr. Hoekzema announced nominations from Council Member Weiss were being reviewed for eligibility issues. Council Member Weiss said he got District 2 Fire Chief from his district. The ESD covers 125,000 to 130,000 people. Commissioner Dockery announced that his district appointed a new judge. Bryan Wilson is the new county judge, and he was sworn in by Commissioner Dockerty on March 12, 2025. Commissioner Dockery requested that Judge Wilson be added to the General Assembly. Judge Wilson can obtain membership to the Executive Committee Board, once the members vote on it at the April 9, 2025 Executive Committee Board Meeting.

10. Liaison EDAC Report

Commissioner Howard, Executive Committee Board Member

Commissioner Howard, Economic Development Advisory Committee Liaison, presented the EDAC Report. Commissioner Howard informed the Board that the committee has a new name and will continue to work on economic development. A subcommittee has been appointed to work on the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS). CEDS will conduct research and provide their findings to the EDAC. Tamara Atkinson of Austin Community College recently conducted a presentation on Austin Infrastructure Academy. Judge Brown is involved with the Austin Infrastructure Academy. Many residents are being trained at the Academy. Commissioner Howard is also the liaison for the Clean Air Coalition. Recently a presentation about freight moving on rail in Texas. This is significant in reducing the carbon footprint in Texas. Texas has one of the highest rail crash fatalities in the country. Many railways in Texas need to be repaired.

11. Regional Round Table / Member Sharing

Executive Committee Members

Council Member Ortega shared the groundbreaking of the district in Round Rock. It's a big investment for the City of Round Rock, and a great investment.

Commissioner Smith spoke about the Texas Legislator controlling what cities and counties could spend CO's on. In the past no list existed specifying where municipalities and cities could not CO funds. There was a list stating where the municipalities and cities could spend CO funds, but the list was not clear and was not all inclusive. Commissioner Smith stated that when the CO funds were backed by Tax Increment Reinvestment Zones (TIRZ) funds, it expanded the developments that CO funds could be used on. He encouraged members to look at their TIRZ. There's good opportunities for some municipalities and cities to look at new projects.

12. Staff Reports

- Homeland Security Division Update Martin Ritchey, Director of Homeland Security
- Status of Wildfire Threat Martin Ritchey, Director of Homeland Security

Mr. Ritchey presented the Homeland Security organization chart and discussed the continued efforts of each of the Homeland Security areas. He discussed the different areas of Homeland Security, the staff, and also discussed the ongoing wildfire issues.

The Wildlife Resistance Summit will take place on April 22, 2025.

 Area Agency on Aging Update – Jennifer Scott, Director of AAA (Will be presented on 4/9/25 due to time constraints)

13. Executive Director Report Chris Miller, Executive Director

There were no items to discuss for the Executive Director Report.

14. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 11:48 am

NO

Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Steve Hougen, Secretary **Capital Area Council of Governments Executive Committee**

<u>4/16/25</u>

.

Executive Committee Summary Minutes | March 12, 2025 | Page 4 of 4