Capital Area Emergency Communications District (CAECD)

The CAECD was established in 2013 by state legislation and subsequent resolutions by Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, Travis and Williamson counties and the City of Austin, oversees 9-1-1 services to local governments in State Planning Region 12.
Policy & Advisory Committees


Legislation introduced by former Texas state Sen. Kirk Watson and Rep. Paul Workman in collaboration with CAPCOG paved the way for the nation’s first COG-managed emergency communications district. It also released CAPCOG from state oversight of COG 9-1-1 programs, ensuring all applicable 9-1-1 fees collected through phone providers will be available to fund emergency communications.  The district is to carry out essential governmental functions related to the provisioning of emergency communications services, including but not limited to emergency 9-1-1, to participating jurisdictions throughout the territory of the district.

Membership and Bylaws

The CAPCOG Executive Committee, the agency’s governing body, serves as the district’s Board of Managers charged with determining funding sources, setting governing policy, appointing a technical advisory committee, adopting a budget and staffing the district.

See who is on the CAPCOG Executive Committee.

The CAPCOG Executive Director Betty Voights is the emergency communications district’s director, managing the board’s operations. The CAECD’s membership, purpose and core responsibilities are outlined in the district’s bylaws.


The CAECD Board of Managers meets at least quarterly and may call additional sessions during the year. Its meetings are open to the public and are subject to the Texas Open Meetings Act. Check the events section below for upcoming meeting details, such as time, date and location.

Get present and past agendas and minutes.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, CAPCOG will provide for reasonable accommodations at its public meetings upon request. Requests from persons needing special accommodations should be received by CAPCOG staff 48 hours in advance of the meeting. Please call 512-916-6018 or email for assistance.

CAECD Strategic Advisory Committee (SAC)

The SAC assists in planning and reviewing policies and infrastructure for operating emergency communications throughout the 10-county region.

Membership and Bylaws

Membership on the 15-member committee board is largely determined by population and established by CAECD board appointment. The majority of it members provide a level of emergency telecommunications professional or technical expertise.

The staff liaison for the SAC is Richard Morales, CAPCOG emergency communications director.

SAC meetings

The CAECD Strategic Advisory Committee normally meets on the fourth Wednesday during the first month of each quarter. Additional meetings may be scheduled as needed. Check the events section below for upcoming meeting details, such as time, date and location.

Contact Aileen Gonzalez, CAPCOG emergency communications administrative coordinator, for meeting information.