Contact CAPCOG

6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001

Close Map | Staff Directory
RSS icon
Text size: A A A


General Assembly

The CAPCOG General Assembly is composed of the official representatives of all member organizations which include cities and counties as well as school districts, chambers of commerce, non-profit agencies, and any other organization that has an interest in COG programs and regionalism. The population of the cities and counties determine how many General Assembly representatives and at-large seats they may fill. The General Assembly meets at least twice per year and is responsible for approving the CAPCOG annual budget, amendments to the CAPCOG bylaws as well as to approve/appoint members to CAPCOG’s Executive Committee. The General Assembly also elects a Nominating Committee in late summer that is charged with soliciting and recommending membership on the Executive Committee at the December Annual Meeting of the General Assembly.

> Read the CAPCOG bylaws, which govern the duties of General Assembly.

Next Meeting

11:30 a.m., Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019 (or after adjournment of the CAPCOG Executive Committee)
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Airport
7610 John Glenn Way
Austin, TX 78741

> RSVP for the General Assembly meeting.
If you are a General Assembly Representative please use the coupon code to recieve lunch.

General Assembly Responsibilities

(1) to establish the overall policies and specific objectives of the Council;
(2) to adopt an annual budget for the Council;
(3) to create, appoint members to, fill vacancies in, and specify the duties of permanent committees of the General Assembly;
(4) to review, on its own motion or at the request of the Executive Committee or any permanent committee of the General Assembly, any action of the Executive Committee or permanent committee.

General Assembly Membership

To be eligible for membership in the Capital Area Council of Governments, a local government or other organization or individual must be located, in whole or part, in State Planning Region 12 which is comprised of the following counties:  Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, Travis, and Williamson.

Full Membership (voting): State Planning Region 12 counties and municipalities.

Associate Membership (voting): Independent and common school districts; water, drainage, conservation and sewer, hospital and other special-purpose governmental districts; other local, state, and federal governmental units or agencies; publicly and privately owned public utilities; and nonprofit organizations specifically concerned with health, welfare, economic, or civic development, if these organizations’ membership is approved by the CAPCOG Executive Committee.

Sustaining Membership (nonvoting): An individual or organization with a positive interest in the welfare of State Planning Region 12.

> Get the General Assembly membership roster.

Selection of Representatives

Full and Associate Members select their representatives to serve on the CAPCOG General Assembly. The number of General Assembly representatives that serves each Full Member is based on the member’s population. In accordance with CAPCOG’s bylaws, at least two-thirds of the General Assembly representatives must be elected officials. Associate members only can have one representative.

CAPCOG asks its members to complete a General Assembly Representative Appointment Form when replacing or selecting new representatives to the CAPCOG General Assembly.

> Download the General Assembly Representative Appointment Form.
> Once completed email the form to Cathy Avila.
> Read the CAPCOG Bylaws for more information about representation on the General Assembly.


^ Back to Top